Baptist Health South Florida, Mariners Hospital

Mariners Hospital Intensive Care Unit Earns the Silver Beacon Award of Excellence

November 24, 2020

TAVERNIER, FL – November 24, 2020 – The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently awarded a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at Mariners Hospital.

The Beacon Award for Excellence – a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments – recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“Our dedicated team is always focused on patient care and safety,” said Rosie Sanchez, Director of the Mariners Hospital Intensive Care Unit. “Receiving this award is an immense honor, and we are so proud of everyone who works in our Intensive Care Unit.”

AACN President Elizabeth Bridges, Ph.D., R.N., CCNS, FCCM, FAAN, applauds the commitment of the caregivers in the hospital’s ICU for working together to meet and exceed the high standards set forth by the Beacon Award for Excellence. These dedicated healthcare professionals join other members of our exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care.

“Receiving a Beacon Award for Excellence demonstrates a team’s commitment to providing safe, patient-centered and evidence-based care to patients and families. Creating healthy and supportive work environments empowers nurses and other team members to make their optimal contribution,” Ms. Bridges explained. “Achieving this award is such an honor and brings such joy to those who have worked so hard to achieve excellence in patient care and positive patient outcomes.”

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence signifies an effective approach to policies, procedures and processes that includes engagement of staff and key stakeholders. The Mariners Hospital ICU has evaluation and improvement strategies in place and good performance measures when compared to relevant benchmarks.

The unit earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:
• Leadership Structures and Systems
• Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
• Effective Communication, Knowledge Management and Learning and Development
• Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
• Outcome Measurement


Pictured, bottom R to L: Nicole Rowney, Sher Dunlap, Tiffany Sistrunk and Liz Giguere. Back, R to L: Nikki Dudley, Theresa Worden, Lupe Ornelas, Naomi, Ornelas, Rosie Sanchez, Laura Berni and Michael Carlisle.

Not pictured: Ginny Cone, Zaneta Wylazlowska, Cynthia Delgado, Daianna Ornelas, Emile Doharty, Frank Reiner and Jeannie Coleman.


About Mariners Hospital
Mariners Hospital is part of Baptist Health South Florida, the largest healthcare organization in the region, with 11 hospitals, more than 23,000 employees, 4,000 physicians and 100 outpatient centers, urgent care facilities and physician practices spanning across Miami-Dade, Monroe, Broward and Palm Beach counties. Baptist Health has internationally renowned centers of excellence in cancer, cardiovascular care, orthopedics and sports medicine, and neurosciences. In addition, it includes Baptist Health Medical Group; Baptist Health Quality Network; and Baptist Health Care On Demand, a virtual health platform. A not-for-profit organization supported by philanthropy and committed to its faith-based charitable mission of medical excellence, Baptist Health has been recognized by Fortune as one of the 100 Best Companies to Work For in America and by Ethisphere as one of the World’s Most Ethical Companies. For more information, visit and connect with us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn.

About the Beacon Award for Excellence: Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. and Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, and learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. To learn more, visit or call 800-899-2226.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, California, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN represents the interests of more than half a million acute and critical care nurses and includes more than 200 chapters in the United States. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. To learn more about AACN, visit, connect with the organization on Facebook at or follow AACN on Twitter at

# # #

Media Kit


Language Preference / Preferencia de idioma

I want to see the site in English

Continue In English

Quiero ver el sitio en Español

Continuar en español